13randon’s weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

el blog no. 5: Boys and Girls Club of America

The experiential learning process has got me thinking about how civil society is currently affecting my daily life. As the connections developed I realized that my entire childhood was based around a civil society organization. It quickly became obvious that the Boys and Girls Club of America played a large roll in my adolescents. Because both of my parents worked jobs from 9:00am to 5:00pm I spent many hours at my local Boys and Girls Club after school and during the summer. I didn’t realize it at the time but I was learning many valuable lessons that would help me to be successful in life and in the classroom.

When researching the Boys and Girls Club of America I discovered their history and the 5 main objectives that make up their mission. The club started in 1860 in Connecticut as a way to get wandering boys off the streets. It wasn’t until 1990 that the club extended its services to women. Their main objectives include character and leadership development, education are career development, health and life skills, the arts and sports fitness. This is a well rounded mission that helps to develop all aspects of local citizens. In my personal experience I benefited most from the arts and sports fitness. I found a passion in basketball and painting during my 8 years as a member of the club. This passion developed into a hard working attitude in high school sports and academics. As a result of hard work in high school I was able to get into George Mason where I am currently on my way to a Bachelors degree in Global Affairs. As you can see the lessons I learned in the Boys and Girls club have helped me to succeed today.

Furthermore, each Boys and Girls Club is a private non profit agency managed by a full-time executive director, assisted by full-time career professionals, part-time assistants and program volunteers. Also a professional staff runs programs promoting the health, social, educational, vocational and character development of youth ages 6-18.

No Responses to “el blog no. 5: Boys and Girls Club of America”

Leave a Reply

