13randon’s weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

blog no. 23: Peace Corps

Overall I thought that Amy Hamelin’s talk was captivating and very informative. What I found most interesting and useful to me was her insight on the actual process of getting involved in the non profit sector. Being a senior I think constantly about what I will do after graduation and how exactly I will get to where I want to be. As she did, I plan on joining the Peace Corps to start off my career in the international scene. With President-elect Obama this opportunity seems more viable than in the past considering he plans to increase the amount of international volunteers through the Peace Corps. If accepted this will be a good place for me to start, because as Amy mentioned many college students have very accomplished resumes that I cannot yet compete with. Unlike many students I have a rather blank resume that I can attribute to my involvement in intercollegiate athletics. Real world experience gained in the Peace Corps will give me an advantage over those with solely class room experience which will advance placement within any organization I become a part of. Also a two year commitment will give me the opportunity to see if philanthropy is what I want to spend my life doing. I am a traveling enthusiasts and I relish the mud hut style living that Amy mentioned. Most importantly her speech was inspirational and really got me thinking how exactly I’m going to approach my career. After hearing Amy’s story I can contextualize the path I want to take more clearly.  I have no idea where I will be in the next few years but I hope to start things off in the Peace Corps.

No Responses to “blog no. 23: Peace Corps”

Leave a Reply

