13randon’s weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

blog no. 1: about me

Hello class,

I would like to take this opportunity to further introduce myself. My name is Brandon Michael McLaughlin; I am a senior transfer Global Affairs Major from Huntington Beach California. I am a 3 year member of the Men’s Varsity Volleyball team here at Mason. I come from a large and rather complicated family. Through various marriages I have accumulated 2 mothers, 2 fathers, 3 sisters, 3 brothers, 2 cats and 2 dogs. I am proud local of Huntington Beach in Southern California where I spent a majority of my youth as a beach bum, surfing and playing beach volleyball.  Over the past decade Huntington Beach has transformed from a mellow locals only beach into a bustling tourist hot spot. We are home to US Open of Surfing, the  largest surf contest in the world, which draws over 50,000 people daily for 7 days of competition. I have a passion for traveling; I have been to 43 of the 50 states, Canada, Mexico, Japan and Ghana. I have a keen interest in Latin America, being my major concentration, I hope to live and work in South America after finishing college. I am pursuing a minor in non profit studies, my goal being to work for and eventually create my own non profit organization. At this point I have very little prior knowledge to the non profit or civil sector so I enter this class with a blank slate. Finally, I am very excited about this blog because I think its going to be a great tool to exchange, collaborate and develop ideas. I look forward to getting to know you all better throughout the semester.

Best,

Brandon

No Responses to “blog no. 1: about me”

Leave a Reply

